Gender parity should be achieved in 216 years*

Femmes en créa seeks to achieve parity much sooner

Mission

Our group was created after a very public debate in which many professionals from the Quebec advertising industry questioned the place of women in our creative departments and our under-representation as creative directors. Our goal is to reinforce the worth of women creatives as a first step towards helping them achieve their goals, access higher positions and, ultimately, enact real change.

Reinforce the worth of creative women

Our values

  • Solidarity
    • When one person speaks out, the message is often lost. But if there are 100, 1,000 or even 100,000 voices, we will be impossible to ignore. We believe that there is strength in numbers and that’s why we created this group. Femmes en créa also believes that solidarity must be inclusive—working alongside men is part of the solution, we do not want to exclude them.
  • Evolution
    • It’s time for things to change. But before that can happen, we have to face the unconscious bias that still exists in our industry. Even if it isn’t intentional, this bias can impact a hiring decision, skew a salary negotiation and influence our day-to-day interactions.
  • Speaking up
    • Women sometimes find it hard to have their voices hear, but maybe that’s because we’re not speaking loudly enough. It’s an uncomfortable question to ask ourselves, but it’s the only way to help us all become more vocal and step into our power. If you have something to share with Femmes en créa, we can help you find the right platform.
  • Equality
    • Numerous studies have already proven it: companies that have more women in positions of power perform better and are more creative. So offering men and women creatives the same opportunities is winning for everyone.
  • Diversity
    • During her speech in Montreal last year, Michelle Obama said, “…if you’re ever sitting at a table that looks like one gender, one race, you have to question that.” Our pursuit for parity also includes diversity.
  • Future forward
    • To create this rosier future, women need the right tools to get ahead, but they also need models, that is, other women who have achieved success on both the small and large scale. To this end, Femmes en créa wants to provide women with mentorship programs, meet-ups, professional development opportunities and simple strategies for everyday interactions. This is how we intend to redefine our industry.
* According to Global Gender Gap 2017, an annual report published by World Economic Forum

La parité hommes-femmes devrait se réaliser dans 216 ans*

Femmes en créa vise l’équité bien avant

Mission

Notre regroupement s’est formé à la suite du questionnement de plusieurs créatives de l’industrie publicitaire québécoise sur la place qu’occupent les femmes au sein des services de création et sur leur sous-représentation dans les postes de direction de création. Notre objectif est de valoriser le travail fait par les femmes en création pour les aider à prendre toute la place qui leur revient et à atteindre des postes clés où elles peuvent avoir une réelle influence.

Valoriser le 
travail fait par 
les femmes en création

Nos valeurs

  • Solidarité
    • Quand une seule personne revendique, ç’a peu de poids. Mais quand 100, 1000 ou même 100 000 portent un message, l’impact est bien plus grand. Rien de tel que la force du nombre. Nous y croyons, c’est pour ça que nous nous sommes regroupées. Cette solidarité n’est pas exclusivement féminine, car nous savons que les hommes font partie de la solution.
  • Évolution
    • Nous voulons que les choses changent. Pour ça, il faut réaliser que des préjugés inconscients subsistent encore dans notre milieu. Même s’ils ne sont pas intentionnels, ils peuvent modifier le jugement lors d’une embauche, d’une négociation salariale, d’une évaluation et même dans les situations banales du quotidien.
  • Prise de parole
    • Les femmes ont souvent de la difficulté à se faire entendre, mais peut-être est-ce parce qu’elles ne parlent pas assez fort? Nous nous posons la question et nous avons l’intention d’y remédier en prenant de plus en plus notre place, à notre manière. Si vous avez des choses à dire au sujet des Femmes en créa, nous allons trouver la bonne tribune.
  • Égalité
    • De nombreuses études ont déjà fait la preuve que les compagnies qui ont plus de femmes en poste de pouvoir, et qui sont donc plus paritaires, sont plus performantes et créatives. Offrir aux femmes et aux hommes des services de création les mêmes possibilités, c’est donc une bonne idée.
  • Diversité
    • Michelle Obama a dit lors de sa conférence à Montréal en février 2018 : « Si vous êtes assis à une table et que vous ne voyez que [des personnes] du même genre, de la même race, vous devez vous poser des questions ». Notre quête pour l’équité en est aussi une pour la diversité.
  • Avenir
    • Pour que l’avenir soit plus rose (!) dans notre milieu, une des solutions est d’offrir aux femmes des modèles féminins de réussite à petite et grande échelle et des moyens d’avancer. Du mentorat, des rencontres et des outils peuvent les aider au quotidien et dans leur développement professionnel. C’est ce que nous voulons accomplir pour la suite des choses.
* Selon le rapport annuel Global Gender Gap 2017 du Forum économique mondial